New Carlisle Town Council 124 E. Michigan Street, New Carlisle, Indiana Special Meeting – January 4, 2011

Clerk-Treasurer Sue Moffitt called the meeting to order with Council Member Higgins, Council Member Colpitts, Council Member Groves and Council Member Vojtko present. Also in attendance were Jack Mell, Ken Davis, Mary Ann Swope, Jeff Roseboom, Jill Doll, Candie Drake, Augie Mauer. Tim Kaminski and Jason Quirk.

The meeting was opened with the Pledge of Allegiance.

The Clerk-Treasurer opened the floor to nominations for Council president.

Council Member Colpitts nominated Carolyn Higgins for Council president. Council Member Vojtko seconded the nomination which passed unanimously.

President Higgins then opened the floor to nominations for Council vice president.

Council Member Vojtko nominated Council Member Colpitts as Vice President. Seconded by Council Member Groves, the motion passed unanimously.

Appointment of Commissions

President Higgins postponed the appointment of commissions and the Area Plan Commission appointment until the January 11th meeting.

Fire and Ambulance Agreements

The proposed fire and ambulance agreements were distributed for comment.

Discussion of 7th Full-Time Officer

Tom Baker stated that the seventh officer would help to ensure public safety through full-time coverage. We are currently relying on part-time and reserve officers to fill in. There are times when it is nearly impossible to fill open shifts due to illness, injury or vacation with part-time or reserve officers and it is necessary to pay overtime.

Tom has decided to go with St. Joseph County's police reporting program in place of the one currently used by the department at a savings of \$3,500 per year. In addition, he will be able to nearly eliminate part-time hours and significantly reduce over-time pay.

Due to limited time, further discussion was tabled until the January 11th meeting.

A motion to adjourn was made by Vice President Colpitts and seconded by Council Member Vojtko. The meeting was adjourned at 6:16 PM.

	Carolyn Higgins, Council President
Attest:	
Susan I. Moffitt, Clerk-Treasurer	